Evan Thomas

Evan Thomas portrait
Event Year

Evan Thomas is the author of ten books, including The Wise Men (with Walter Isaacson), The Man to See, The Very Best Men, Robert Kennedy, John Paul Jones, Sea of Thunder, The War Lovers, Ike’s Bluff, Being Nixon, and First: Sandra Day O’Connor. John Paul Jones, Sea of Thunder, Being Nixon, and First were all New York Times bestsellers. Thomas was a writer, correspondent, and editor for thirty-three years at Time and Newsweek, including ten years (1986–96) as Newsweek’s Washington bureau chief. He has appeared on many TV and radio talk shows, including Meet the Press, CBS Morning News, Morning Joe, and The Colbert Report. Thomas taught writing and journalism at Harvard and Princeton, where, from 2007 to 2014, he was Ferris Professor of Journalism.

His next book, Road to Surrender, about the last two weeks of the Pacific War, will be published by Random House in June 2023.